Historical Documents

History and Activities of the Blackburn & District Tree Preservation Society Inc.

The Blackburn and District Tree Preservation Society Inc. has been in existence for over the 55 years since its inception in 1959.
During this period far-sighted, somewhat radical local residents, initially in Blackburn, but ultimately in the City of Nunawading (latterly Whitehorse) and beyond, believed that community action, political lobbying and perseverance could, and would, preserve and enhance the local and wider environment for the benefit of all – then, now and into the future.

It all started in the mid-1950s when the relentless over-clearing of native (now called indigenous) bushland for residential development was questioned by a number of Blackburn residents. Joan Satchwell, an original member of the tree society, remembered that her first interest in the preservation of the Blackburn environment was the result of a 1956 letter to The Age stating that Furness Park (now part of Blackburn Creeklands) was ‘… out of place in a suburban area and should be tidied up and cleared …’

Several informal meetings were organised to discuss ways and means to combat this loss of natural amenity, which finally culminated in the formation of the Blackburn Tree Preservation Society in 1959 (the ‘and District’ was added later).
The tree society has been instrumental in supporting the election of ‘green’ Councillors, has actively promoted the planting of indigenous plants and published regular newsletters, plant guide booklets and an indigenous plants poster.

In the early 1980s, the Society was instrumental in the creation of the Special Residential Zone (now the Significant Landscape Overlay No. 1) in Blackburn with its tree control provisions and has been instrumental in establishing community Bushland Park Advisory Committees in Whitehorse.

You can see all that follows and more in the beautifully presented

Fighting for the Trees  

Available now for just $30 a copy.


1956 Letter to ‘The Age’ 

Letter from Laurel Jones re establishment of BDTPS

1959 Notice of first meeting of BDTPS

1961 Article on plant show at Vermont

1961 Article re report on Parklands

1963 Letter re Blackburn Bowling Club

1966 Flower Show Flyer

1969 Planting at Yooralla


Early 1970’s: (L to R) Dr. Jack Jones, George Cox, Grant Mattingly, David Moss and Bill Eunson

1984 Eight Presidents of the Tree Society

1984 Eight Presidents of the Tree Society

1986 Article on tree controls

1986 Article on planting of Creek lands

Cr. Wendy Reid in Mayoral Robes 1986

1986 Cr. Wendy Reid in Mayoral Robes

1988 Notice on tree controls

1988 Article on tree controls

1994 Flyer on school site sell offs

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s